Book Reviews

It by Stephen King (Spoiler-free!) Review

“We all float down here.”

Stephen King, It

There’s an evil lurking in Derry, Maine. It lurks in the storm drains and the sewers. The scary part? The entire town is affected by evil that lives under the city wreaking its havoc upon the town, but only the children can see It. Seven outcasts form a bond in order to defeat It, deeming themselves The Loser’s Club. It, being a creature from out of this world, takes their greatest nightmares and turns them against each child. Thinking they defeated It as children, they lead a life outside of Derry until the murders start happening again. Twenty-seven years later, The Loser’s Club makes their way back to Derry to defeat the evil once and for all.

b27bac83-e0fa-43c7-95a5-f244d9af4197

If you’ve ever read a Stephen King book, you would know his descriptions are vivid and this book is no exception. You wouldn’t believe Derry was a fictional town with the way he describes it. The details make you believe you aren’t just reading about a town, but that you actually have stepped foot right into it. With all the crazy and evil things that happen here, it is not a place I would want to visit. With the way King goes into details, it’s like you are actually in the book right beside the characters as they go through the horrors of every day life of living in Derry. His style definitely works by making you really feel terrified as you read, as if It could actually reach out and grab you at any minute. This is a true horror novel. It is not for the faint at heart. Do not read this at night, especially if you are alone- you will have nightmares. 

“…she took her washcloth and leaned over the basin to get some water and the voice came whispering out of the drain: ‘Help me….’”

-Stephen King, It

I loved the way this book was formatted. It’s not your typical straightforward timeline. The book is split up into 5 parts, alternating between childhood and adulthood in the perspective of every member of The Loser’s Club. Instead of starting out with the childhood perspective, you are thrown right into the perspective of the adults in present-time making you curious as to how each character got to that certain point in their lives. This was an effective writing style making it so you just couldn’t put the book down because you just had to know how everything would come together.

Every character King writes is so realistic. You either love them or hate them. I just fell in love with every character that was part of The Loser’s Club. Each had their own personality and quirks and that’s what made you love them even more. They seemed so real; like they could be your friend. Same goes for the bad characters. He writes them so descriptively that you just can’t help but hate them with everything you have. Some characters in this story were so demented. Pennywise (the clown) was so scary and creepy. The descriptors that King uses couldn’t be anymore perfect. Character personality, growth, and development get an A+ from me.

“Can an entire city be haunted?”

Stephen King, It

This novel wouldn’t be what it is without the addition of the Derry Interludes at the end of every part. The interludes, in my opinion, are what made the book so terrifying. They detail all the past horrors that have happened in Derry and have basically been ignored and forgotten. This is where you really see the true evil nature It brings upon this town. I could read an entire novel just on the basis of the history of Derry, Maine. So interesting, yet so horrifying.

Now for my dislikes. One thing that bothered me about this whole book of amazingness is the amount of detail. I know, I know, I just went on and on how I loved all of King’s brilliant descriptions, but at some parts they seemed to become unnecessary. I got bored at some of the parts that I was just not interested in. For example, the description of Stan’s wife’s life. She wasn’t a major part of the storyline; therefore, I really didn’t care to hear about her life. I thought some parts like the one I just described could have been cut out entirely. Also I feel the need to mention one specific scene that just did not sit well with me, mainly because the ages of the characters at this point in the novel. I’m not going to go into detail about it because after all this is a spoiler-free review, but I do believe this one scene was just absolutely disgusting. If you’ve read the book, you know what scene I’m talking about. The scene that brings The Loser’s together. (Sorry for the vague description!) Besides that, I have no complaints of this brilliantly written book. I was hooked from beginning to end. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to fans of Stephen King or fans of horror novels.

signature

9 thoughts on “It by Stephen King (Spoiler-free!) Review

  1. Hi ! I never normally comment on other people’s posts but I just came across your blog and I have to comment and tell you that I adore it! Your blog is so wonderful, I am so happy I just came across it. I am going to follow you right now so I can keep up to date with all of your posts; I look forward to your next ones! Keep up the great work (:

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great review, Danielle 🙂 I really enjoy King’s books. I haven’t read a lot but those I have read were amazing. I know what you mean by his detail and and the way he draws you into the story making it hard to put down. You make me want to read this…I’ve been avoiding it, partly because it’s so darn long!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m am so looking forward to It! I have it on audio and hope it translates well in that format. I’m reading my first King novel, The Stand, and I love it – I totally get what you mean by his awesome descriptive writing! Now, if only I could get the book read before September – I kind of doubt it! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. His books definitely take a long time to get through. This one took me 2 full weeks of only reading this book. I have yet to read The Stand! I’ll be looking forward to reading your review on that one! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

