Book Reviews

The Scattered and the Dead (Book 0.5) by L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain (Spoiler-free!) Review

Loneliness drives an introvert to write a letter to the girl in the apartment across the hall. He is anxious. Reclusive. Desperate for a friend. The apocalypse interrupts this attempt at human contact. Now he watches out the window as the world gets cut to pieces by plague and riots. Buildings burn. Pedestrians vomit blood. Soon the bodies line the streets. Rumors of zombies spread. And then the power goes out. Getting to know someone could be harder than he thought, let alone surviving in a post-apocalyptic wasteland. He might even need to leave the apartment.

img_1880

All my friends are dead. Probably everyone I’ve ever cared about is dead.”

-L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain, The Scattered and the Dead (Book 0.5)

This is a 150 page prelude to The Scattered and the Dead Series. There are a total of 4 works in this series. The Scattered and the Dead books 0.5, 1, 1.5, and 2. This is the suggested reading order.

First off, I just need to point out how relatable the main character for me was on a personal level. I mean my blog name isn’t The Introverted Book Nerd for nothing. Along with the main character, Decker, I am also an introvert. There are passages that describe just how much of an introvert he is, very much like myself.

“I might have a slight case of agoraphobia. To be clear, I do leave my apartment. Six days a week, I go downstairs to get the mail. I usually do it late at night or really early in the morning to avoid seeing anyone. Or maybe to avoid anyone seeing me? I’m not sure.”

-L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain, The Scattered and the Dead (Book 0.5)

This may only be a short novella in the series but it did not disappoint! Being only a prelude there wasn’t much of a plot, rather a set up of how the apocalypse began and how the world fell apart; but that does not mean there wasn’t any action or gore. There most definitely was. And I want more. As soon as I was finished I wanted to pick the next book up immediately and just dive right in! I most definitely will be continuing on with this series. I rate this novella 4 out of 5 stars. I recommend this series to anyone who likes post-apocalyptic stories and zombies.

Thank you to the authors for granting me this e-book in return for an honest review.

signature

 

2 thoughts on “The Scattered and the Dead (Book 0.5) by L.T. Vargus & Tim McBain (Spoiler-free!) Review

Leave a Reply

