Book Reviews

Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff (Spoiler-free) Review

Assassin Mia Corvere has found her place among the Blades of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but many in the Red Church ministry think she’s far from earned it. Plying her bloody trade in a backwater of the Republic, she’s no closer to ending Consul Scaeva and Cardinal Duomo, or avenging her familia. And after a deadly confrontation with an old enemy, Mia begins to suspect the motives of the Red Church itself. When it’s announced that Scaeva and Duomo will be making a rare public appearance at the conclusion of the grand games in Godsgrave, Mia defies the Church and sells herself to a gladiatorial collegium for a chance to finally end them. Upon the sands of the arena, Mia finds new allies, bitter rivals, and more questions about her strange affinity for the shadows. But as conspiracies unfold within the collegium walls, and the body count rises, Mia will be forced to choose between loyalty and revenge, and uncover a secret that could change the very face of her world.

This is the second book in the Nevernight Chronicles. You can read my review on Nevernight here.

If you have read my review of Nevernight, then you won’t be surprised that I found this book to be topping my list as one of my favorite reads of 2017 so far. This series just continues to blow me away. It’s full of action and blood and gore and vulgarity and I just can’t seem to get enough. It is the perfect read for those who love fantasy books with a lot of action.

Godsgrave opens with a lovely recap of Nevernight. I thought this was the perfect addition to the book as there were a lot of details that could be forgotten in between reading Nevernight and Godsgrave. So if you want to just jump right into Godsgrave without re-reading Nevernight, this recap really helps to refresh your memory of all the details you might have forgotten. I wish every sequel of a series provided a recap to the book before it! It would definitely save me the time of having to re-read the first book every time a new book in a series comes out! Authors take note!

Going into a sequel, I am always a bit apprehensive as some seem to fall flat compared to their predecessor, but not Godsgrave! This was one of my most anticipated books for 2017, and it did not let me down in the slightest! The plot had even more action and fight scenes than the first book did. I am a sucker when it comes to action scenes. Don’t let the action put you off though, there are plenty of sexy scenes to make up for all the blood and violence.

“Our scars are just gifts from our enemies, reminding us they weren’t good enough to kill us.”

-Jay Kristoff, Godsgrave

There is a diverse set of characters both old and new that I just adored. Of course, Mia is my favorite character, not only because she is the protagonist, but because she is just badass and sarcastic. Sarcastic characters always seem to be my favorite in books, which leads me to Mr. Kindly. Mr. Kindly is Mia’s shadow cat and he is one sarcastic bastard. You can’t help but love him. I love the way he interacts with Eclipse, Mia’s shadow wolf. Eclipse is the opposite of Mr. Kindly in personality. She is a fiercely loyal companion who does what she is told without question. The banter between these two bring a funny and light-hearted dialogue to a rather dark book. It is the perfect off-set the story needed.

Is it possible to read a book written by Jay Kristoff that doesn’t have a killer ending with cliffhanger? I think not! I can feel a book hangover coming after that ending! I can’t wait to get my hands on the third and final book! Ugh, why does it have to be so far away?!

I rate this book a glowing 5 out of 5 stabs stars! Perfect for fantasy readers who love a badass heroine, assassins, action, and blood! Publication date for this book is September 5, 2017!

Thank you to Netgalley, the publishers, and Jay Kristoff for an advanced copy of this book in return for an honest review.

signature

20 thoughts on “Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff (Spoiler-free) Review

  1. Pingback: IRL Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

