Book Reviews

Nyxia by Scott Reintgen (Spoiler-free) Review

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family. 

Forever. 

Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden–a planet that Babel has kept hidden–where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe. 

But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.


Emmet Atwater is one of ten teenagers chosen by Babel Corporations to travel to the planet Eden in order to mine Nyxia. Nyxia is a substance that is able to be manipulated to just about anything your mind can think of. The twist? Babel is only taking eight of the ten recruits to the planet of Eden. If that wasn’t enough to create competition, add in a sum of $50,000 per month for each teenager who makes it to Eden. This is where the trials begin. Throughout their journey to the planet, the recruits are put through different tests and trials. To choose which recruits go and which stay behind, they are scored on how they perform these tests. This story largely focuses on these trials for the majority of the book with some twists and turns thrown in every once in a while.

What I loved so much about this book was the large cast of characters. They are from all over the world. There was so much diversity in this book! Here’s a breakdown of all the characters and their ethnicities.

Emmett: Main character. Black male from Detroit, Michigan.

Kaya: Japanese, Emmet’s roommate. (My favorite character.)

Bilal: Middle Eastern, from Palestine, the nicest person you will ever meet.

Katsu: Japanese, heavyset, the comic relief.

Jasmine (Jazzy): Southern blond from Tennessee.

Azima: African, from Kenya.

Jaime: The only white teenager, from Switzerland.

Longwei: Asian, top of the class.

Isadora: Brazilian with a mysterious tattoo on the back of her neck.

Roathy: A black male. (We never learn where he is from.)

As you can see, we have quite the diverse cast, but you are probably asking yourself how they all communicate. Well, they are all given a mask aboard the Genesis 11 that translates language for them. Pretty advanced technology, but what do you expect from a multi-billion dollar corporation?

This book was fast-paced with a lot of action. I really loved the plot twists that were thrown in. I may have even shed a tear while reading this book, which I was definitely not expecting to do! This was a book that I had trouble putting down! I need book 2 in my life NOW!!

If you like science fiction and space books, then I recommend you pick this one up right away! Publication date is September 12, 2017. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars!

Thank you to Penguin’s First to Read program and Scott Reintgen for an advanced copy of this book in return for an honest review.

signature

Edited by my amazing boyfriend: sal

63 thoughts on “Nyxia by Scott Reintgen (Spoiler-free) Review

      1. So I just finished working on this post and the theme of the post is ‘overcoming depression’…I really put in so much time and effort to compose it and I’ve read through it and I believe it’s mind blowing…my problem now is that I don’t want to publish it and waste my effort. If I publish it now, it won’t be seen by enough bloggers and I really want the work to spread, I need your help in maybe the tags I can use so it will be viewed and all that. Someone told me something about a community pool but I have no single idea what that is. Please help me

        Like

      2. I have no idea about a community pool. I’ve never heard of that, but then again I’m a new blogger as well. As for tags, I would do depression, mental health, mental illness, overcoming depression, advice, health, help, blogging, personal, recovery, treatment…etc. Stuff like that. I only focus on blogging about books so I don’t know how much more help I can be.

        Like

  1. Great review, and I’m glad to hear you liked it! I’m also excited that the MC is from Detroit, MI. Reppin’ the Mitten! YA Sci-Fi have had some kick-butt books published this year! I received and ARC of this book, and need to get to it ASAP!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

