Book Reviews

Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel (Spoiler-free) Review

A simple but forgotten truth: Where harbingers of death appear, the morgues will soon be full.

Angie Dovage can tell there’s more to Reece Fernandez than just the tall, brooding athlete who has her classmates swooning, but she can’t imagine his presence signals a tragedy that will devastate her small town. When something supernatural tries to attack her, Angie is thrown into a battle between good and evil she never saw coming. Right in the center of it is Reece—and he’s not human.

What’s more, she knows something most don’t. That the secrets her town holds could kill them all. But that’s only half as dangerous as falling in love with a harbinger of death.


img_2358

Angie Dovage is not your average teenager. She has been through more than most; growing up in a van with a drug addict mother. She eventually gets out of her bad situation and moves in with her father, who is the complete opposite of her mom. He is a health freak who lives in a rich neighborhood.

One day, Angie gets a new neighbor. Reece Fernandez and his family move into the house next door. When he arrives, everything in Angie’s life changes. She is opened up to a world of death and destruction. Without giving too much away, Angie finds out that Reece and his family aren’t all what they seem to be. Where the family goes, death and destruction is always near.

The writing style was very much targeted at young adults and I can say that I had a hard time getting into this story at first. I’m not sure why, it could have just been me. I feel like I may have been a little older than the targeted audience, which is why I had a hard time. But as soon as I got about 6 chapters in, I was hooked. After that, I found it hard to put this book down! It was a quick read once I got into the story. I just wanted to know what happened next!

I am so happy to say that this wasn’t an insta-love story. It took time for Angie and Reece’s relationship to develop, which I was thankful for. I am not a huge romance lover so I was pleased to find that this wasn’t the main focus of the story, though it does play a large role. There was also a supernatural aspect that moves the story along. I don’t want to give anything away so I don’t want to go into too much detail, but you will find harbingers of death along with other supernatural creatures.

I want to add that I was so happy to find out that this was a stand-alone book. It was a breath of fresh air to have a story wrapped up and to not have to wait another year for a sequel. Nowadays, most young adult books are series, and while I like series, it’s nice every once in a while to come across a stand-alone.

Overall, I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars! I recommend this read for anyone who enjoys paranormal romance stories!

Thank you to the publisher and Meg Kassel for an advanced copy of this book in return for an honest review.

 

 

34 thoughts on “Black Bird of the Gallows by Meg Kassel (Spoiler-free) Review

  1. This sounds like a good book! And to find out that it is a stand-alone book is amazing! Every book that I pick up anymore is always a series and I have to question whether I want to get into yet another series. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As soon as I started reading this review I started feeling like this was a book I should definitely get and it was cemented when you said it is a standalone. That seems so rare these days. Definitely adding this to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You know, sometimes I think i’m outgrowing YA. It makes me really sad because I do love the stories but sometimes wish for older characters instead of always having the high school scene, etc. I hope I can stay with it for a bit longer because i’m not ready to leave it behind. Don’t you just love autographed books!? They make me feel so special 🙂 Sorry you didn’t LOVE this one, here’s hoping you love the next!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

