Book Reviews

Beyond the Darkness by Simon Brewer (Spoiler-free) Review

Happy Halloween everybody! 

Today I am reviewing Beyond the Darkness, Simon Brewer’s debut novel. This book is a collection of 4 gothic parables. As with every anthology I review, I am not going to give a synopsis but just review each individual story with just my thoughts and ratings. 


A BARD’S TALE

Losing someone you love is always tragic. Anya finds out the hard way that it’s best to just let the dead rest in peace. This was a sad tale of true love that was cut short. This was a great first story in the collection. I really enjoyed the message that love trumps all, (even an evil necromancer!) Even though this story didn’t end with a fairytale happy ending, it did end on a happier note, which I really enjoyed. I rated this story 4 out of 5 stars. 

THE TESTAMENT OF PRISONER X

When the crew of a ship start disappearing, Imran seeks out the source of the illusive murderer. What he comes across is a dark, dark evil that traps him as a servant. Is Imran able to fight the curse of the evil holding his soul captive? This was a really enrapturing story about good vs evil. I thought this story was an entertaining read. I quite enjoyed it! I rated this one 3.5 out of 5 stars. 

A SONG OF HUMAN NATURE

This story is so beautiful and poetic. It is written in verse form. I love stories that are written this way so I was extremely happy to see a story written in this format. It just flowed so smoothly and eloquently. It was very easy to read and understand, which sometimes I find can be difficult in this format. I loved the moral of this story; you can always find good within the bad. This is my favorite story of this collection. I rated this one 4.5 out of 5 stars!

THE FABLE PART ONE – THE TALE OF TWO BROTHERS

This is the story about two brothers who were prophesied for one to kill the other. One was good and honest in nature and the other evil and wicked. No one knows which brother is the evil one and which is the honest and true one, even the two brothers themselves. So which brother is truly the wicked one? I can’t wait to find out, as this is only part one of a two-part tale. Part two will be in the next novel. I also want to add that I loved how Greek mythology was entwined into the story. It was a nice addition! I rated this one 4 out of 5 stars!


Overall, I found this collection to be incredibly well-written. This is a book that will keep you wanting to turn the pages to see what the next story will have in store. If you are at all a fan of gothic fairytales, then I highly recommend you pick Beyond the Darkness up and support a fantastic author! My total rating comes out to be 4 out of 5 stars!

Thank you to Simon Brewer for sending me a copy in return for an honest review. 


34 thoughts on “Beyond the Darkness by Simon Brewer (Spoiler-free) Review

Leave a Reply

