Unboxing

Owlcrate August 2017 Unboxing

If you don’t know, Owlcrate is a book subscription box for Young Adult book lovers. Each box contains a book (in this case 2 books) and book swag such as bookmarks, tea, bath bombs, pins, and more! This month’s theme was Something Wicked This Way Comes. Here’s what I got:

First, we have the book, The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones. This is an exclusive cover only for Owlcrate subscribers. I had no idea what this book would be. I actually have never heard of this book until I opened my box up. This book is about a girl who gives up her heart and agrees to work for a demon in exchange for escaping a dangerous home life. This book sounds amazing and I can’t wait to jump right into it!

img_2240

Along with the book we have a handwritten letter from the author and a signed bookplate that I have already stuck in the book. We also got a small pin that says “I chose this” in the shape of a heart. I’m sure that saying will make more sense once I read the book.

img_2243

Next up we have some awesome Edgar Allan Poe socks from Out of Print! I am so psyched about these as I am a huge fan of Poe’s works. I can’t wait for fall to come so I can wear these!

We also got some Harry Potter themed coffee made exclusively by Happenstance Coffee! I am a coffee drinker and I am so excited to try this. The flavor notes of this coffee are almond, orange, and chocolate! It sounds so good!

If you are a fan of Victoria Schwab, you might recognize the quote. It is a sticker designed by Evie Bookish based on the Monsters of Verity duology.. She has the most brilliant designs and I’m always happy when I know we are getting a product from her shop.

I love taking notes while I read so I was really excited when I saw we got a pen from Ooly in this box. It isn’t your regular old pen though! It is a pretty purple pen with two extra ink cartridges. I thought the extra ink cartridges were a nice touch! I can’t wait to start using this pen for my note-taking!

img_2241

In every Owlcrate box we receive a spoiler card with a picture of the theme on it along with a pin that matches. This month’s was a pretty red card with birds, the moon, and some trees on it. I thought it was a really eye-catching design.

This month we got an extra book! Months where you get two books instead of one are my favorite! This month’s extra book was a collection of short stories by Washington Irving, best known for writing Sleepy Hollow.

Lastly, we got this beautiful double-sided Six of Crows bookmark designed by Treehouse of Books. I am a huge fan of Leigh Bardugo so I was pleased that we got an item inspired by one of her series.

Quotes on the bookmark:

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

“No mourners, no funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck’.”

img_2242

That was everything I received in my Owlcrate box. I loved every item, but my favorite has to be the Poe socks! What was your favorite item? I would love to hear what you thought about this box. Let me know down in the comments! Until next time!

signature

33 thoughts on “Owlcrate August 2017 Unboxing

      1. I was meh on them, I was hoping for something related to raven for Poe but it’s okay, I loved everything else especially the pen! I felt like they did a really good job. I can’t wait for next months!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great unboxing post! This month’s box looks awesome, those socks are adorable! I want to try OwlCrate in the future, just waiting for a theme that sounds appealing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment