Book Reviews

Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo (Spoiler-free!) Review

She will become one of the world's greatest heroes. Wonder Woman But first she is Diana, princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law--risking exile--to save… Continue reading Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor (Spoiler-free!) Review

In this twisting tale of loyalty, betrayal, and love, two sisters must survive the wilds, if they can first survive each other--for fans of "Pretty Little Liars" and "Gone Girl." Emma has always orbited Henri, her fierce, magnetic queen bee of an older sister, and the two have always been best friends. Until something happens… Continue reading A Map for Wrecked Girls by Jessica Taylor (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka (Spoiler-free!) Review

A highly unstable army veteran suffering from PTSD is hell-bent on waging his own personal war against Mother Nature. He is the number one target being hunted down by the police in the city of Los Angeles as he rampages through the city in an attempt to provoke such a powerful and overwhelming force as… Continue reading Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

Feel Me Fall by James Morris (Spoiler-free!) Review

Secrets and survival in the Amazon. Emily Duran is the sole survivor of a plane crash that left her and her teenage friends stranded and alone in the jungles of the Amazon. Lost and losing hope, they struggle against the elements, and each other. With their familiar pecking order no longer in place, a new order… Continue reading Feel Me Fall by James Morris (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

The Luster of Lost Things by Sophie Chen Keller (Spoiler-free!) Review

Walter Lavender Jr. is a master of finding. A wearer of high-tops. A maker of croissants. A son keeping vigil, twelve years counting. But he wouldn’t be able to tell you. Silenced by his motor speech disorder, Walter’s life gets lonely. Fortunately, he has The Lavenders—his mother’s enchanted dessert shop, where marzipan dragons breathe actual… Continue reading The Luster of Lost Things by Sophie Chen Keller (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

The List by Patricia Forde (Spoiler-free!) Review

In the city of Ark, speech is constrained to five hundred sanctioned words. Speak outside the approved lexicon and face banishment. The exceptions are the Wordsmith and his apprentice, Letta, the keepers and the archivists of all language in their post-apocalyptic, neo-medieval world. On the death of her master, Letta is suddenly promoted to Wordsmith, charged… Continue reading The List by Patricia Forde (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

When the English Fall by David Williams (Spoiler-free!) Review

When a catastrophic solar storm brings about the collapse of modern civilization, an Amish community in Pennsylvania is caught up in the devastating aftermath. Once-bright skies are now dark. Planes have plummeted to the ground. The systems of modern life have crumbled. With their stocked larders and stores of supplies, the Amish are unaffected at… Continue reading When the English Fall by David Williams (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Keuhn (Spoiler-free!) Review

"This isn't meant to be a confession. Not in any spiritual sense of the word. Yes, I'm in jail at the moment. I imagine I'll be here a long time, considering. But I'm not writing this down for absolution and I'm not sorry for what I did to Rose. I'm just not. Not for any of… Continue reading When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Keuhn (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

The Dying Game by Asa Avdic (Spoiler-free!) Review

A masterly locked-room mystery set in a near-future Orwellian state, in which seven people are brought to a remote island to compete in a 48-hour test for a top-secret intelligence position, and one woman must stage her death. The year is 2037, and on the tiny island of Isola, seven people have been selected to… Continue reading The Dying Game by Asa Avdic (Spoiler-free!) Review

Book Reviews

The Fading of Lloyd by Kit Crumpton Review

The Fading of Lloyd embroils the reader in family history as members struggle through historic challenges: the end of the American frontier, the dawn of the railroad travel that wove Midwest communities together, World War I, and the social mores of the 1920s and 1930s. The Huttleston family, whose son, Lloyd, is mentally retarded, struggles… Continue reading The Fading of Lloyd by Kit Crumpton Review