Book Reviews

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (Spoiler-free) Audiobook Review

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. 

“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. “I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract”.

Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?


I cannot believe that I waited this long to finally pick up this book!! It was so, so good! I wish I had read this when I was younger! I feel like this could have been one of my favorite books growing up! I didn’t know what to expect when I first picked it up, but I do know that what I got was more than I had anticipated! I got an amazing cast of characters, an adventure through different worlds, and a sense of family and love!

Meg and her brother, Charles Wallace, have been living for years not knowing where their father disappeared to. All they know is that he didn’t leave them on purpose and that he still loves them and their mother very much. One day a stranger shows up telling them that they received a call for help and that she believes that it was their father sending out the call for help. With the help of Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which, Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin set off on an adventure through the universe to save their dad. What they didn’t expect to find was that along the way they would have to fight off an evil greater than they could ever know.

This book is full of adventure! It is perfect for children just delving into the fantasy genre. It is not hard to follow along with. The worlds are filled with brilliant descriptions that makes you feel as if you are there right beside Meg and Charles Wallace as they explore each new world.

The cast of characters in this book were fantastic!! I loved each and every character, both good and bad. Each character had their own personality. Meg, who I connected with the most, was stubborn and untrusting, Charles Wallace, my favorite character, was extremely intelligent just like his parents, and Calvin was sweet and a great communicator. The three of them along with the three Misses (Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which) made up a marvelous team. I highly enjoyed following them around on their adventures.

A Wrinkle in Time had a theme of family and love that showed throughout the story. I thought this was the perfect foundation for a children’s fantasy novel. It showed that even through all the evils of the world, love and family always comes out on top.

Overall, I found this book to be fun and adventurous. I would recommend this book to everyone! I think it is worth reading at least once and that it is perfect for all ages. I am giving A Wrinkle in Time a rating of 4 out of 5 stars!

image-1

28 thoughts on “A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (Spoiler-free) Audiobook Review

  1. I went back and read some of L’Engle’s Austen books for the first time on audio! I think it might be the same narrator. I love the way her books are…I read the Time books when I was probably too young to understand them, but I reread Wrinkle in middle school (so like…7 years ago haha) and I really enjoyed the movie. I want to go back and reread the second and third books

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment